Tezpur University professor Ashis Mukherjee awarded by Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Teachers Award 2018


Tezpur University professor Ashis Mukherjee has been awarded the prestigious "Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Teachers Award (2018)" for his consistent and high-level of teaching, and inspiring and mentoring students to take up careers in Science and Technology. The award founded by INSA, New Delhi is one of the highest recognition for science and technology teachers in the country.

Prof Mukherjee is the Dean of Research and Development, the Head and Coordinator of Department of Biotechnology (DBT) Nodal Cell for Medical Colleges and Biomedical Research Institutes of northeastern India, a release issued by the University said Tuesday. He will be formally conferred the award at the Anniversary General Meeting of the Academy in December 2018.

Mukherjee has also received Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) in Biotechnology from Calcutta University and the Visitor's (President of India is the visitor of all central universities of India) Award for Research in Basic and Applied Sciences-2018 from the President of India at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi, the release added.

Note: This feed is published under collateral with PTI. Download our ANDROID & IOS app for every important update